Religious Studies

ATHE Level 3 Extended Diploma in Jewish Studies

These are core Jewish qualifications which were developed with input from Jewish schools, colleges and other subject experts.

The qualifications can be taken in the form of subsidiary, standard or extended diplomas and cover a range of topics such as Jewish Philosophy, the Jewish Year, Pentateuch and Contemporary Halacha. They are designed for learners over the age of 14 and can be offered alongside an academic curriculum.  There are various options for assessment but typically students compile a portfolio of work, which is produced across the time of study. This portfolio is then externally verified so that standards are secure.

As ATHE is an Ofqual-regulated awarding body, these qualifications can be seen on the Ofqual register and will be recognised widely by a universities and other higher education institutions.

You can view the qualification specification here.

ATHE Level 3 Extended Diploma in Jewish Studies Core Units
  • Pentateuch
  • Contemporary Halacha
  • The Jewish Year
  • The Development of the Jewish People in the Diaspora
  • Jewish Philosophy and Ethics